skip navigation and go to content
Texas Real Estate CommissionMy License Online ServicesTexas Real Estate Commission


Sales / Broker Inspector E.R.W.


Education
Education Main Page
Find an Education Provider
Course & Instructor Evaluation Form
Exam Pass Rates by Core Education Provider
Find an Education Form
Legal & Ethics MCE
Course Manuals
Broker Responsibility Course Manual
SAE Information
SAE Requirements
Core R.E. Course List
R.E. Related Courses
MCE Information
MCE FAQ's
Look Up Your MCE
MCE & SAE Credit Request Forms
Examinations
Examination Tips
Candidate Handbook for Exam Candidates
Exam Topic Pass Rate Report
Inspector Reference Materials
  KEY To Symbols
= Page is in area (folder tab) of this color
= Adobe PDF file format
= Web site external to TREC
blank one pixel image

Education Information for Licensees


Salespersons and Brokers (already licensed)

Course & Instructor Evaluation Page - Rate the quality of an education course and instruction.


Salesperson Apprentice Education
Licensed Salespersons who applied on or after September 1, 2012 are required to have completed 270 core real estate and related classroom hours by the end of the second year of license (180 hours of which were already completed before application for license). See the appropriate text and chart on the Salesperson Apprentice Education (SAE) requirements page.
Salesperson Apprentice Education (SAE)
Licensed Salespersons who applied on or after January 1, 2006 are required to have completed 270 core real estate and related classroom hours by the end of the first year of licensure (210 hours of which were already completed before application for license). See the appropriate text and chart on the Salesperson Apprentice Education (SAE) requirements page.
Licensed Salespersons who applied prior to January 1, 2006 are allowed up to three years from licensure to complete the 270 hours, typically with 30 core real estate hours required during each of those three years. These licensees can refer to their appropriate text and chart on the Salesperson Apprentice Education (SAE) requirements page.
SAE Cover Sheet form to use when submitting SAE course completion certificates to TREC.

Core & Related Courses and Provider Lists:
Core Real Estate Courses and their content requirements
Core Real Estate License Education Providers for Salesperson and Broker Applicants
Real Estate Related Courses considered acceptable by the Commission for real estate related credit, provided they are taken from an approved source.



Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) Requirements
(for Individual Brokers and for Salespersons who have satisfied SAE requirements)
Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) refers to the Real Estate License Act's continuing education requirement (§1101.455) of 15 classroom hours (6 hours of which are the approved Legal & Ethics courses) to be completed during each two-year renewal period. A broker who sponsors salespersons,the designated broker of a business entity, or a salesperson who is a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders for six months or more during the current license cycle must also attend a 6 hour broker responsibility course as part of the 15 hour MCE requirement. Below are links to key pages dealing with MCE.
MCE Credit Request forms for submittal to TREC for special cases (out of state MCE, State Bar, or courses for a Professional Designation)
See YOUR MCE Credit Hours! - courses for which you've received credit (in Licensee Info Search)
MCE FAQs page for course requirements and answers to many common questions on the topic of MCE
MCE Exemption for Certain Qualifying Brokers, from the Real Estate License Act

MCE Provider Lists:
Complete MCE Provider List incl. subject areas, phone, website links
Online MCE Course Providers
Legal Update and Ethics MCE Course Provider List

For Complete Information on Renewing Your License:
Renewing a Salesperson License
Renewing an Individual Broker License
Renewing a Corporate or LLC Broker License




Site Map Privacy & Security Policy Open Records Linking to TREC site Accessibility

Texas.gov Statewide Search Veterans Portal Texas Homeland Security Where the Money Goes Report Fraud