skip navigation and go to content
Texas Real Estate CommissionMy License Online ServicesTexas Real Estate Commission


Sales / Broker Inspector E.R.W.


Education
Education Main Page
Find an Education Provider
Course & Instructor Evaluation Form
Exam Pass Rates by Core Education Provider
Find an Education Form
Legal & Ethics MCE
Course Manuals
Broker Responsibility Course Manual
SAE Information
SAE Requirements
Core R.E. Course List
R.E. Related Courses
MCE Information
MCE FAQ's
Look Up Your MCE
MCE & SAE Credit Request Forms
Examinations
Examination Tips
Candidate Information Brochure for Exam Candidates
Exam Topic Pass Rate Report
Inspector Reference Materials
  KEY To Symbols
= Page is in area (folder tab) of this color
= Adobe PDF file format
= Web site external to TREC
blank one pixel image
Note: Effective September 1, 2012, the acronym for SAE changed from Salespersons Annual Education to Salespersons Apprentice Education. Additional information may be found on the "What's New" section of the website.

Salesperson Apprentice Education (SAE) Requirements

  • For Those Applying On or After September 1, 2012

    A Salesperson is required to have completed a total of 18 semester (270 classroom) hours of education, by the end of their second year of licensure. On the chart below, one can see that 180 of those classroom hours in core real estate courses must be completed within 1yr of the Salespersons application filing date. Please note that this means only 6 additional semester (90 classroom) hours in core real estate courses are required to be filed during the term of the license as a licensed Salesperson. These hours are known as SAE, or Salesperson Apprentice Education. These 90 additional classroom hours in core real estate for the SAE must be submitted and on the TREC system by the end of the second year of licensure.

    Accumulated Hours Required for Real Estate Salespersons
    Applying On or After September 1, 2012
    Required Within
    1yr of Filing the
    Application
    Core Classroom Hours
    180 hours, as follows:
    • 60 in Principles of Real Estate
    • 30 in Law of Agency
    • 30 in Law of Contracts
    • 30 in Real Estate Finance
    • 30 in Promulgated Contract Forms
      180 Total Classroom
    Once licensed, the salesperson must then complete an additional 90 core real estate classroom hours during the term of the license, for the totals seen below:
    At 1st Renewal
    (end of 2nd year)
    180 hours 90 hours 270 total hours

    Note: Should all 270 hours be completed at the time the application is submitted, the licensee will have satisfied the SAE requirements and MCE hours will not be required for their first renewal. Core credit will not be awarded for the same core courses taken within two years of each other.

Salesperson Annual Education (SAE) Requirements

  • For Those Applying On or After January 1, 2006

    A Salesperson is required to have completed a total of 18 semester (270 classroom) hours of education, at least 14 semester (210 classroom) hours of which must be in core real estate courses, by the end of their first year of licensure. On the chart below, one can see that 150 of those classroom hours in core real estate courses are to have been completed before the application for the Salesperson license is made (and may be filed along with the application). Please note that this means only 4 additional semester (60 classroom) hours in core real estate courses are required to be filed during the first year as a licensed Salesperson. These hours are known as SAE, or Salesperson Apprentice Education. These 60 additional classroom hours in core real estate for the SAE must be submitted and on the TREC system by the end of the first year of licensure.

    Accumulated Hours Required for Real Estate Salespersons
    Applying On or After January 1, 2006
    When Core Classroom Hours Max. Related
    or other Core
    Classroom hrs
    Total
    Classroom
    Hours
    With Application 150 hours, as follows:
    • 60 in Principles of Real Estate
    • 30 in Law of Agency
    • 30 in Law of Contracts
    • 30 any other core real estate
    60 hours 210 total hours
    Once licensed, the salesperson must then complete an additional 60 core real estate classroom hours during the first year of licensure, for the totals seen below:
    At 1st Renewal
    (end of 1st year)
    210 hours 60 hours 270 total hours

    Note: Should the hours be completed PRIOR to the first renewal, the licensee will have satisfied the SAE requirements, and will then be under Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) requirements. Core credit will not be awarded for the same core courses taken within two years of each other.



Site Map Privacy & Security Policy Open Records Linking to TREC site Accessibility

Texas.gov Statewide Search Veterans Portal Texas Homeland Security Where the Money Goes Report Fraud