Renewing Your Individual Broker License
- Fingerprint Requirements for Brokers and Sales Agents
Background Check Fee - All license holders who have been fingerprinted for TREC must pay the $29.75 background check fee with each subsequent renewal or application.
- Pay Your Renewal Fee and File Early - To renew your license timely, you must have your Continuing Education (CE) completed and posted to your record at the time the renewal fee is paid. The renewal fee must be paid within 90 days of the license expiration date. If Commission records do not show that you have completed your CE at the time you submit your renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE deferral fee, or renew in INACTIVE status. Paying the deferral fee will allow you to continue to be active in real estate activities and give you an additional 60 days from your expiration date to complete your CE.
I want to renew and my license is currently . . .
Steps to Renewing Your Individual Broker License
- Know Your Renewal Filing Deadline
This deadline date will be printed on your renewal notice, which is sent to you approximately 90 days before your renewal filing deadline.
Meet All Education Requirements
All active brokers are required to complete CE for an active license renewal. The CE requirement is 18 classroom (clock) hours of TREC approved CE courses. At least eight of the 18 hours must consist of a four hour legal update I course and a four hour legal update II course created for and approved by TREC to satisfy the eight legal topics hours of continuing education required by Occupations Code §1101.455. A broker or a designated broker of a business entity, who sponsors one or more sales agents during their current license period, or a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders for a period of six months or more during the supervisors current license period must take a six hour broker responsibility course. The six hour course may be used to satisfy 6 of the 18 hours in CE that must be completed by the license expiration date of each license term to renew a license on active status. The following is a breakdown of the CE hours that must be completed:
- 6 hour Broker Responsibility Course
- 4 hour Legal Update I Course
- 4 hour Legal Update II Course; and
- 4 hours in an approved CE course(s)
Getting Credit for your CE Courses:
CE course providers are responsible for notifying TREC when a license holder has completed a CE course. However, if you are seeking CE elective credit for the following types of courses, you must forward your documentation to TREC:
- Qualifying real estate course
- Out of state continuing education course
- A course approved by the State Bar of Texas for MCLE participatory credit
A broker that completes a qualifying real estate course to satisfy CE requirements, must file the course completion certificate with TREC.
Out of State Course Credit
Texas license holders who hold a license in another state and have completed continuing education to renew the out of state license may have those courses evaluated for CE elective credit. An CE Credit Request for an Out of State Course form and the course completion certificate, should be submitted to request such credit.
Credit for State Bar Courses
Brokers who complete real estate courses of at least 1 hour in length which are approved by the State Bar of Texas for MCLE participatory credit, can apply to TREC for elective credit for those courses. An CE Credit Request for State Bar Courses and the course completion documentation should be submitted to request such credit.
TREC-approved CE providers can be located through our Education Providers page.
Submit Your Renewal Payment Online or download and complete the Renewal Form for Real Estate Sales Agents and Brokers and submit the form by mail or in person (get mailing and street address here).
You'll receive your License Renewal Notice approximately 90 days before the renewal filing deadline.
If Commission records do not show that you have completed your CE at the time you submit your renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE deferral fee, or renew in INACTIVE status. Paying the deferral fee will allow you to continue to be active in real estate activities and give you an additional 60 days from your expiration date to complete your CE.
Inactive Individual Broker Licenses
A broker whose license is inactive who returns to active status, must complete the CE hours during the two years prior to filing the Application by Broker to Return to Active Status Form and pay the $50 fee.
Expired Individual Broker Licenses
When a broker’s license expires or is placed on inactive status, all sales agents sponsored by the broker will be placed on inactive status. This includes sales agents sponsored by a business entity whose designated broker’s license expires or is placed on inactive status.
Expired 6 months or less
An individual broker whose license has been expired 6 months or less who files a late renewal may renew the license without any lapse in licensure.
For an ACTIVE renewal of a license that has been expired 6 months or less:
A broker who files an application to late renew on active status must pay the applicable renewal fee, have the CE hours completed, and file the RENEWAL OF REAL ESTATE LICENSE – TIMELY OR EXPIRED LESS THAN SIX MONTHS application. If the CE hours have been completed by the license expiration date, no additional fee will be due. If the hours are completed within 60 days of the license expiration date, a $200 CE deferral fee will be required. If the hours are completed between 61 – 180 days of the license expiration date, the deferral fee and $250 late reporting fee (total $450) will be required.
For an INACTIVE renewal of a license that has been expired 6 months but less than 2 years:
A license holder may file a late renewal application and renew a license on INACTIVE status without a lapse in INACTIVE licensure and without submitting CE. A license holder cannot engage in real estate activity with an inactive license.
Expired MORE than 6 months but less than 2 years
A broker whose license has been expired less than 2 years who files an application to reinstate that license on active status, must complete the CE hours within the two year period prior to filing the Application for Reinstatement of a Sales Agent License or Broker License by an Individual. If the hours have not been completed when the reinstatement application is filed, the license will be renewed on an inactive status. To return to active status, see Inactive Individual Broker Licenses (on this page, above). To reinstate a broker license on active or inactive status, the reinstatement applicant must have two years of active experience in the four year period prior to filing the application.
Expired more than 2 years
A previously licensed broker whose license has been expired more than 2 years, must reapply for licensure and meet current broker requirements (including passing the licensing exam), which in most cases means that the applicant will first need to apply for a sales agent license, take the sales agent exam, and obtain four years of experience as a sales agent before applying for a broker license.